Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Lewis Award?

The Lewis Award is an honor designed to recognize, promote and encourage excellence in teaching in the Catholic Schools in the Diocese of Raleigh. In addition to the prestige and public recognition, there are monetary awards presented to the Recipient, the Finalists and the schools they represent.

Although the Lewis Award is scheduled to be presented on an annual basis, an Award need not be granted in a given year if, in the judgement of the Lewis Award Committee, the stipulated criteria of the Award have not been met.

Who is eligible for nomination?

A nominee must:

  • Be a full time K-12 classroom teacher in the Diocese of Raleigh Catholic Schools
  • Have completed a minimum of 4 years in the Diocesan Catholic Schools
  • Nominee shall hold a current North Carolina Professional Educator License
  • If the nominee is a primarily teacher of religion, the nominee must be certified as a Master Catechist
  • Be planning to continue teaching in the Diocesan schools
  • Be an exceptionally skillful, dedicated teacher

Personnel whose major responsibilities are administrative or supervisory are not eligible for nomination for the Lewis Award for Excellence in Teaching. Others who are ineligible include school counselors, school psychologists, school social workers, speech therapists, media coordinators, teacher aides and prior Lewis Award Recipients.

Any individual, group, school, parish, etc., may submit nominations. Candidates should have the respect and admiration of students, parents and colleagues, and should play an active and contributing role in the community. As a Lewis Award Recipient serves as an ambassador for the Raleigh Diocesan Schools, the candidate should be poised, confident, articulate and possess the ability to meet people easily.

The two most important qualities a candidate should possess are the ability to form positive relationships and to inspire students to learn, regardless of their backgrounds and/or abilities.

How is the recipient selected?

Criteria used for the selection process shall include the following components: application form, classroom observation/interview and such traits of outstanding teachers as subject and related general information knowledge, presentation of material, classroom management, concern for individuals and school and community involvement.